WB forms 10-member National Education Policy Committee

The West Bengal government has set up a 10-member high-level committee to review the New Education Policy (NEP). The committee which will report in two months will include members like Sugata Bose, Suranjan Das, Nrisingha Prasad Bhaduri, Gayatri Chakraborty Spivak, Anupam Basu, Saikat Maitra, Abhik Majumdar, Dhruvajyoti Chattopadhyay, Chiranjeev Bhattacharya and Kalyanmoy Ganguly, on the boards of directors .

The committee was formed with experts to decide what action to take with this national education policy. This committee will have the task of reviewing the entire education policy and seeing how it is implemented.

Know who is on the committee

Sugata Bose is an Indian historian and politician who has taught and worked in the United States since the mid-1980s. Her areas of study are South Asian and Indian Ocean history. From 2014 to 2019, Bose served as a Member of Indian Parliament from Jadavpur Constituency in West Bengal with his party affiliation Mamata Banerjee led the All India Trinamool Congress (TMC).

Professor Suranjan Das is currently Vice Chancellor of Jadavpur University. He is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Exeter, UK. He was Professor of History at the University of Kolkata and served that institution both as Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Kolkata, and Honorary Director of the Netaji Institute for Asian Studies, Kolkata.

Nrisingha Prasad Bhaduri is an Indian historian, writer and Indologist. He is a specialist in Indian epics and Puranas. In 2012, Bhaduri undertook the large-scale project of creating an encyclopedia of the great Indian epics of Mahabharata and Ramayana.

Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak is an Indian scholar, literary theorist and feminist critic. She is a professor at Columbia University and a founding member of that institution’s Institute for Comparative Literature and Society.

Some modifications of the NEP

Many novelties have been introduced into the education system thanks to the NEP. In the new policy, particular emphasis has been placed on vocational education in schools. The policy emphasizes vocational education to increase mathematical and scientific thinking among students in school life. In this context, students will learn coding from class 6.

One of the changes of the new education policy is to give importance to the regional language and to put the regional mother tongue in the foreground as a medium of education. The new education policy stipulates that the regional or local mother tongues must be the language of instruction, at least until the fifth grade. If it can be done in eighth grade or higher, then it’s better.

Students will now have the opportunity to study Sanskrit at all school levels and in higher education. The principle of the three languages ​​will be followed here. This means that from now on, in schools, three languages ​​will be taught. Education experts believe that the Union Cabinet took this decision to give importance to the regional language and culture.

Under the new system, students can choose from a range of subjects. This means that now if a student wants to study physics at the same time as music, he can. In the new education policy, along with school education, there will also be a big change in higher education.

Read all the latest IPL 2022 news, breaking news and live updates here.

Comments are closed.